South Africa vs Pakistan, 2nd ODI: Fakhar Zaman Run Out In Controversial Fashion In Last-Over Thriller. Watch
Fakhar Zaman was run out in the second One-day International between Pakistan and South Africa in Johannesburg on Sunday in controversial circumstances. Batting on 193 at the start of the 50th over with Pakistan needing 31 runs to win, Zaman decided to come back for a second run after playing the first ball towards the off side. South Africa wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock, who was waiting to collect the ball at the striker’s end, gestured as if to suggest that the throw should be at the non-striker’s end. As Zaman was blindsided with his back towards the fielder, the stumps at the striker’s end were disturbed with a direct hit even as Zaman, who had presumed a throw at the other end, was found short of his ground.
Zaman’s dismissal courted controversy with the ‘fake fielding’ rule of the International Cricket Council (ICC) in place to deter fielders from distracting batsmen.
Clause 41.5.1 states that ‘‘it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.’’
Further, clause 41.5.2 says that “it is for either one of the umpires to decide whether any distraction, deception or obstruction is wilful or not.”
The on-field umpires did not object to the dismissal and Zaman had to walk back to the pavilion.
18 fours and 10 sixes
What an exceptional knock from Fakhar Zaman played an extraordinary inning.
#DamaDamMast #MainHoonQalandar #SAvPAK